Tuesday, February 2, 2010

The four categories of Kufr

There are four kinds of kufr, viz. Kufr Jahl, Kufr Juhood, Kufr Shakk and Kufr Ta’weel. The o­ne guilty of any of these types of kufr is described as a kaafir in the Shariah.


This means kufr occasioned by ignorance. Islam or the teachings of Islam are denied o­n the basis of ignorance. The rejector believes that the claim of Islam is false. This was the type of kufr of Abu Jahl and his compatriots.


This means deliberate kufr. The denial of Islam or its teachings is occasioned deliberately, inspite of realising its truth. This type of kufr is the result of rebellion and obstinacy. This was the type of kufr of the Ahl-e-Kitaab (the Jews and Christians). This is also the kufr of Iblees (shaitaan).


This means kufr occasioned by doubt. The denier doubts the truth of Islam.


This means kufr by way of interpretation. The kufr is not committed by outright rejection, but is rendered by means of interpretation. A belief or teaching of Islam is distorted or given an interpretation or meaning other than what was the meaning ascribed to it by Rasulullah (sallallahu alayhi wasallam).

Of the four types of kufr, the last viz. Kufr Ta’weel is the most common nowadays among those who were born Muslim. Corrupt interpretation is widely employed by Muslims to distort the true beliefs and teachings of Islam. By such baatil ta’weel (baseless and corrupt interpretation), Qur’aanic verses and Ahaadith are given meanings which conflict with their true and original meanings explained by Rasulullah (sallallahu alayhi wasallam). By means of this type of kufr, numerous born Muslims have become kaafirs.

“In mankind are such men who dispute in the aayaat of Allah without having any knowledge, and they follow every rebellious shaitaan.” (Qur’aan)

1 comment:

Anonymous said...

nice post. thanks.